999: The Extraordinary Young Women of the First Official Jewish Transport to Auschwitz

On March 25, 1942, nearly a thousand young, unmarried Jewish women boarded a train in Poprad, Slovakia Filled with a sense of adventure and national pride, they left their parents homes wearing their best clothes and confidently waving good bye Believing they were going to work in a factory for a

Nazi Saboteurs: Hitler's Secret Attack on America (Scholastic Focus): Hitler's Secret Attack on America

A gripping tale of the little known Nazi plot to attack on American soil, and the brave individuals who got in the way.In 1942, amid a growing German threat, Nazi agents infiltrated the United States in hopes of destroying American infrastructure and sowing panic throughout the nation Nazi

Through Adversity: Britain and the Commonwealth's War in the Air 1939-45

Through Adversity is a unique book that provides a comprehensive account of Britain and the Commonwealth s war in the air during the Second World War It combines detailed studies into the tactics, techniques and technology,together with the personal accounts of the aircrew themselves as they

Spy

A young woman is caught up in a dangerous double life on behalf of her country during World War II in Danielle Steel s thrilling new novel At eighteen, Alexandra Wickham is presented to King George V and Queen Mary in an exquisite white lace and satin dress her mother has ordered from Paris With

Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders (A Woman of WWII Mystery #1)

The start of an exciting new World War II historical mystery series featuring charming, quirky Air Raid Warden Poppy Redfern Summer 1942 The world has been at war for three long and desperate years In the remote English village of Little Buffenden, the Redfern family s house and farmland has

A Game of Birds and Wolves: The Ingenious Young Women Whose Secret Board Game Helped Win World War II

The triumphant true story of the young women who helped to devise the winning strategy that defeated Nazi U boats and delivered a decisive victory in the Battle of the Atlantic By 1941, Winston Churchill had come to believe that the outcome of World War II rested on the battle for the Atlantic A

All Blood Runs Red: The Legendary Life of Eugene Bullard-Boxer, Pilot, Soldier, Spy

A New York Times Book Review Editors Choice A whale of a tale, told clearly and quickly I read the entire book in almost one sitting Thomas E Ricks, New York Times Book Review The incredible story of the first African American military pilot, who went on to become a Paris nightclub

A House in the Mountains: The Women Who Liberated Italy from Fascism

The extraordinary story of four courageous women who helped form the Italian Resistance against the Nazis and the Fascists during the Second World War In the late summer of 1943, when Italy changed sides in WWII and the Germans, now their enemies, occupied the north of the country, an Italian

The Orphan Thief: A heartbreaking historical romance perfect for fans of My Name Is Eva

From the international bestselling author of The Secret Orphan When all seems lost As Hitler s bombs rain down on a battered and beleaguered Britain, Ruby Shadwell is dealt the most devastating blow her entire family lost during the Coventry Blitz Hope still survives Alone and with the city in

The Winter Army: The World War II Odyssey of the 10th Mountain Division, America's Elite Alpine Warriors

The epic story of the U.S Army s 10th Mountain Division, whose elite soldiers broke the last line of German defenses in Italy s mountains in 1945, spearheading the Allied advance to the Alps and final victory At the start of World War II, the US Army had two cavalry divisions and no mountain

The Tattooist of Auschwitz (The Tattooist of Auschwitz, #1)

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz Birkenau When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a T towierer the German word for tattooist , tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.